Las Gracias Las Cárites o Gracias (en griego Χάριτες, en latín Gratiae) eran las diosas del encanto, la belleza, la naturaleza, la creatividad humana y la fertilidad. Habitualmente se consideran tres, de la menor a la mayor: Aglaya (‘Belleza’), Eufrósine (‘Júbilo’) y Talía (‘Festividades’)....ver mas back

Los Titanes



In Greek mythology, the Titans (Greek: Τιτάν—Ti-tan; plural: Τιτᾶνες—Ti-tânes) were a primeval race of powerful deities, descendants of Gaia (Earth) and Uranus (Sky), that ruled during the legendary Golden Age.

They were immortal huge beings of incredible strength and stamina and were also the first pantheon of Greek gods and goddesses. Where the Olympians lived in Olympus, the home of the Titans was Othrys, their stronghold.

In the first generation of twelve Titans (the Uranides)

the males were Oceanus, Hyperion, Coeus, Cronus, Crius, and Iapetus
the females - the Titanesses - were Mnemosyne, Tethys, Theia, Phoebe, Rhea and Themis.

The second generation of Titans (the Iapetionides) consisted of

Hyperion's children Eos, Helios, and Selene;
Coeus's daughters Leto and Asteria;
Iapetus's children Atlas, Prometheus, Epimetheus, and Menoetius;
Oceanus' daughter Metis; and Crius's sons Astraeus, Pallas, and Perses.

According to the ancient Greek Creation myth Uranus, the father of Hyperion and the other Titans, was terrified of the massive size and strength of his gigantic children and to prevent them rebelling against him, Uranus seized them immediately after their birth and hurled them down into a dark abyss called Tartarus, where he kept his Titan children in chains.

The Titans were overthrown by a race of younger gods, the Olympians, in the Titanomachy ("War of the Titans"). This represented a mythological paradigm shift that the Greeks may have borrowed from the Ancient Near East.

The Titans of greek mythology are,in the first generation, the aunts, uncles, and parents of the olympian gods and goddesses.There are 12 Titans who are children of Gaia and Uranus.The mother of earth is Gaea also known as the earth goddess. She mated with her son to produce the remaining world of Titans. Urenus is the sky god and first ruler.He is the son of gaea then became the husband. There were six elder Titans named Kronos, Koios, Lapetos, Hyperion, Okeanos, who ruled the world before Olympians came to power.
For a generation, the Titans shared the world and created mankind. There were six sons and six daughters, most of the men imprisoned in the belly of the world by whose father when they close to fight a war with a younger gods called olympians. The ruler of the Titans was Cronus who was de-throned by his son Zeus.
Atlas, Prometheus and Menoetius are sons of the lapetus who are the second generation of the Titans.

Los Semidioses (Demigods) Perseo